Conor & Nick /adoption-family/conor-nick 1777

Conor & Nick

Our Story

Hello and welcome to our family! We are Conor, Nick and Leo and we would like to introduce ourselves to you. We are happy to give you a glimpse into our lives and our journey through the adoption process. We have learned a great deal about adoption over the last several years, and we are excited about welcoming another child into our family. We adopted our son, Leo, in early 2020, and we could not have been happier.

We realize it is a big decision so we want to share with you our story and how we came to this point in our lives. We feel that another open adoption is the right option for us and we look forward to having some relationship with our child’s birth parents if possible, like we have with Leo. We wish you the best of luck on your own adoption journey wherever it may take you.


Conor is originally from Portland and Nick is from Chicago. We met in 2010 at Northwestern hospital in downtown Chicago. Conor had just moved to Chicago and was in his first month of his residency training as an ER doctor. Nick was in his last year of his training to be a surgeon. We actually met in the ER of the hospital while taking care of a patient! We had some friends in common, it turns out, and we quickly became inseparable and we were married shortly thereafter. Nick works as a cancer surgeon at a nearby hospital and Conor works as an ER doctor at several different hospitals in the area. We both love our jobs because we get the opportunity to interact with many different types of people and make a difference in our patients’ lives. We love to travel and explore different parts of the world and different cultures. We have both always dreamed of being parents, but our educations took time to complete. In early 2020, we adopted our first child, Leo, and he has changed our lives and made us so happy. We are excited to continue to grow our family and give Leo a little sibling.


Both of us feel that family is the most important part of our lives. Nick is from a large family, his parents were actually born in Greece and moved to the US in the 1970s. Nick is the middle child and grew up speaking and writing Greek. He has two sisters and seven nieces and nephews. Nick’s family celebrates Easter and Christmas together and Nick has cousins who still live in Greek whom we are very close to.

Conor grew up in Portland with his parents and his younger brother. Conor also has a half brother who lives in Europe whom he visits every few years. We enjoy traveling to visit our families and we make family trips a priority whenever we have time off from our jobs. We have taken trips to other countries with our families as well. In 2012 we took a big family trip to Italy, and last year we traveled to an island in Greece to see the village where Nick’s mother was born; it took us over an hour to find it in the mountains of Greece but it meant a lot to Nick to see where his mother came from. We look forward to teaching our children about our cultures and experiences and we are excited to take our children with us as we continue to travel and explore the world.


I grew up in Portland, Oregon with my younger brother Evan and both of our parents, Kate and Cary. I also have an older half brother named Joop (a Dutch name) who was born in Amsterdam and still lives there with his wife and son. When I was younger I spent a lot of time skiing on Mt Hood and I have always enjoyed bike riding. I also used to spend a lot of time cooking meals with my mother who taught me how to be a great cook.  My best friend in childhood was named Eli. I learned a lot from Eli about how important it is for adopted children to know their birth parents .

I moved to Chicago for my residency. It was difficult, but meeting Nick made the time fly by. When I finished my training to be an ER doctor, Nick and I decided to stay in Chicago because we love the city and the neighborhood where we live. I am fortunate to have a great career taking care of all kinds of patients who come to the ER, and my job also gives me the flexibility to be home and to take trips to visit friends and family. I still enjoy cooking and Nick and I make meals together at home most nights so we can spend time together.


I was born only a few years after my parents moved to the United States from Greece. My sisters are close in age with Dimitra being a year older and Maria a year younger. We grew up speaking Greek at home, which was important to my family as my grandmother lived with us, and she only spoke Greek. I learned English in school and am now equally fluent in both languages. I lived in Chicago my whole life, which included surgical residency, where I met Conor at Northwestern in 2010. I only moved away for a couple years to train in cancer surgical techniques at a top cancer center in Houston, Texas. Living in Chicago is important to me because of all of my personal connections. My older sister, Dimitra, has 5 children, and my younger sister, Maria has 2 children. It has been important to me to see them grow up and be a part of their lives.  Conor and I spend a lot of time together and with these friends, and it is important to us to keep these relationships strong and active.


Leo was born in March 2020 in Amarillo, Texas. We matched with his birth mother when she was about 20 weeks along in her pregnancy. We were fortunate to be present for his birth and we were able to take him home from the hospital He has been with us since his first day of life. He is a very good baby, and enjoys being around dogs, other babies, and people in general. He is playful and happy. He likes music and dancing and will always smile back at you when you smile. He does very well with other babies, and we know he would love to be a big brother.


As long as we both can remember, we have always wanted to be parents. When we were younger, we had strong role models in our own parents. As we got older and developed our own family, we saw parenting as an important and essential part of our lives. Because we cannot have our own children, we were faced with several options for growing our family. We decided on adoption as the optimal method for us. It is important to us that our adopted children have a strong sense of identity, both from the community from which he or she comes and from our own cultures and backgrounds.

Fun Facts

  • favorite food: Mexican
  • favorite season: summer
  • favorite sport: skiing or biking
  • favorite home activity: reading
  • favorite music: 80’s music
  • favorite movie: Clueless
  • favorite animal: dog
  • favorite food: soups
  • favorite season: fall
  • favorite sport: running
  • favorite home activity: sitting by the fire
  • favorite song: “Somebody to Love” by Queen
  • favorite movie: Sound of Music
  • favorite animal: penguin

"Conor & Nick" Family Photos

  • Leo loves to nap
  • Nick’s cousin’s wedding in Greece
  • Temple of Poseidon in Athens
  • Conor and Nick got married in California
  • Hanging out on the balcony
  • Riding ATVs in Mexico
  • Conor and Leo on the couch
  • Murder mystery night with friends
  • Conor and his brothers, Evan and Joop
  • Dressed as pirates in Norway
  • Nick ran the marathon in Athens, Greece
  • Nick with his twin nephews, Andy and Alek
  • Nick and Conor on a tractor in Oregon
  • Family picnic in the park
  • At an outdoor cooking class with friends in Crete
  • Conor snorkeling around Milos island with friends
  • Leo loves playing peek-a-boo in the drapes
  • Enjoying the view.
  • Leo learning to stand
  • Leo and Olive hanging out outside

Contact the Cradle

If you’re interested in learning about adoption for your baby, we can help. We’re available 24/7. All of your information is confidential.

To speak to someone now, call our 24-hour hotline: (800) 272-3534 or text us at (312) 800-1559 (answered 8:30am-8pm).

If you’d like us to contact you, please use the form below.

If you are looking to adopt a child, please schedule a call with an Adoptive Parent Counselor.

If you are an adopted person looking for information, please schedule an informational consultation with our post adoption department.

How did you hear about The Cradle?

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.